top of page

Oculus making a comeback...

Should you buy a VR headset, and if so which one, why not get the HTC Vive. Well I recently tried the new Oculus Rift, and I think HTC need to up their game...

 

When I tried the Oculus rift for the first time I was a little weary as to what expect, however I was immediately blown away by its stunning immersion. The VR was great, I didn't suffer any headaches or nausea and was overall happy with my experience.

The head mounted display was very comfortable and had a sleek modern look. Oculus are saying that they have "refined their design" and I completely agree, as personally I did not like the aesthetic of the original Development Kit 1 and 2 - I thought they were too large and bulky. Thankfully Oculus have changed that and the new Rift is looking great.

And finally the new touch controllers. For me these were the biggest selling points over the HTC Vive. The feel of holding the controllers and being able to gesture and then see that in VR is simply incredible. You really get the sense that Oculus spent a great deal of time working on these as the quality of material and the point precision motion tracking is phenomenal.

 

In the end it all comes down to price, with the headset coming in at $599 and the touch controllers at $199, it's going to cost a lot for the Oculus experience, however compared to its rival, the HTC Vive, this price point is fairly reasonable. Another set back is the hardware required to run it. If you're wanting to play amazing games in VR then your going to need a pretty beefy PC, with Oculus saying that the spec requirement for the Rift are roughly a GTX 1060 and an Intel i5-4590 or better, only the best will suffice.

 

So in my opinion if you have a great PC and a lot of money to spare then, yes you should definitely pick up the Oculus Rift, however if your just an average PC gamer with not much to spare then I'd wait a while for the price to come down and for VR ready PC's to become more affordable.

bottom of page